2018 Bill of Rights Dinner

November 11, 2018 @ 5:00 pm
November 12, 2018 @ 4:45 pm

2018 Bill of Rights Dinner

ACLU of Southern California

November 11, 2018

Cocktail Reception 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Dinner and Program 6:30 - 9:15 p.m.

Beverly Wilshire Hotel
9500 Wilshire Boulevard
Beverly Hills, California 90212

This year, Rita Moreno will accept the Ramona Ripston Liberty, Justice & Equality Award; Kenya Barris, Eva Longoria, and Constance Wu will accept Bill of Rights Awards; Tarana Burke and Alyssa Milano will accept Eason Monroe Courageous Advocate Awards. The evening will feature a performance by Jennifer Hudson. Celebrity presenters include Norman Lear, America Ferrera, Laurence Fishburne, Mike Farrell, and Bryan Fuller. Others participants to be announced.

Last year's sold-out gala honored Jane Fonda, Viola Davis, Judd Apatow, Gina Rodriguez, Dolores Huerta, Reginald Hudlin, and special surprise honoree Colin Kaepernick, who were presented awards by Martin Sheen, Billy Eichner, Van Jones, Lily Singh, and the Honorable Maxine Waters. Common and Andra Day performed Diane Warren's Oscar-nominated song "Stand Up for Something."


I would like my purchase to support the ACLU Foundation of Southern California’s litigation work. This purchase (less $155 per ticket) is tax-deductible.

I would like my purchase to support the ACLU of Southern California’s policy advocacy and lobbying work. This purchase is not tax-deductible for federal income tax purposes, but may be deductible as a trade or business expense

To see available tables, please see the table map (updated October 15, 2018).

For information regarding sponsorship and underwriting opportunities, please contact Christian Lebano, Annual Events Manager, at 213-977-5229 or clebano@aclusocal.org.


Grammy Award-winning Singer, Academy Award-winning Actress and Global Activist


Emmy-, Grammy-, Oscar- and Tony-winning Actress, Best-selling Author and Activist

To be honored with the Ramona Ripston Liberty, Justice & Equality Award

Rita Moreno has been an outspoken and lifetime advocate on behalf of women and girls, civil rights, Hispanic rights, immigration reform, and access to health care. From the beginning of her career, she has been a powerful voice for diversity and equality in Hollywood. She took a self-imposed exile for a time rather than play the stereotypical and racist roles that were offered her even after winning an Oscar. Her longtime support of the work of the ACLU speaks to her commitment to social justice and equality.

Emmy-nominated Creator, Producer, Writer, and Activist

To be honored with the Bill of Rights Award

Kenya Barris’ groundbreaking show, black-ish, explores what it means to be black in this country. Mr. Barris’ willingness to go to difficult places with the show has earned him and black-ish countless awards, including a Peabody and a Social Justice in the Media Award from the ACLU of Southern California. He has been strongly committed to providing opportunities to young and emerging talent, particularly women and people of color. Mr. Barris serves on our Board of Trustees, a testament to his commitment to our work and to social justice.

Actress, Producer, Director, and Philanthropist

To be honored with the Bill of Rights Award

Eva Longoria is one of the instigators of one of the most important developments in Hollywood this generation – the Time’s Up Movement – which has already had an enormous impact on the industry. Her commitment to young Latinas through her foundation is cultivating a new generation of empowered women. She has strongly advocated for #KeepFamiliesTogether which supports the work of the ACLU and others to reunify separated families.

Actress and Activist

To be honored with the Bill of Rights Award

Constance Wu has been an articulate advocate for women, immigrants, refugees, and people of color. She has fought Hollywood racism by advocating for inclusion and visibility and by empowering others to speak out. Her activism in support of #KeepFamiliesTogether — including protesting outside detention centers — brought attention to this shameful policy. Her work with The Big Hundred encourages people to engage in small and meaningful acts to transform their frustration into activism.

'me too.' Movement Founder and Activist

To be honored with the Eason Monroe Courageous Advocate Award

Tarana Burke created the 'me too.' movement in response to the abuse many women — young and old — shared with her and through that movement she has had a world-wide impact encouraging women to confront their abusers and find strength and community in their shared experiences. She continues her work through Girls for Gender Equity and other female-empowering initiatives.

Actress and Activist

To be honored with the Eason Monroe Courageous Advocate Award

Alyssa Milano has been a driving force behind one of the most far-reaching movements of the last few years — #MeToo. She has worked tirelessly as an advocate for police accountability, the Times Up Movement, the protection of Roe v Wade, voting-rights, and the reunification of separated families. Her self-professed goal is to make the world a better place for our children.



Underwriters of the Bill of Rights

Sherry & Leo Frumkin
Shari Leinwand

Liberty & Justice Leader

George Molsbarger

Champions of Justice

Lyn & Norman Lear
Rozann Newman
Alan Sieroty

Protectors of Freedom

Adelman Llanos Family
Creative Artists Agency
Stacey Herzing
Kristin Zethren & Chic Wolk

Guardians of Liberty

Apatow-Mann Family
Audrey Irmas Foundation for Social Justice
Bad Robot
Greenberg Glusker LLP
Suzanne Lerner
Roger Lowenstein & Los Angeles Leadership Academy
Magnolia Pictures
Wendy & Barry Meyer
Miriam Muscarolas & Grant Abramson
Participant Media
Paul Hastings LLP
Sidley Austin LLP
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Justin Tranter
United Talent Agency
Jon Wiener & Judy Fiskin

Defenders of Equality

Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Cannom Family/Walker Cannom Stevens LLP
Doll Amir Eley LLP
Lisa & Andrew Gilford
Steven Heckler & Associates
Law Office of Frank J. Broccolo
Marla Stone, Scott Johnson, and Claudia Johnson Stone
Peg Yorkin

Sponsors of Rights

Attias Family Foundation
Nichelle Carr / George & Azita Fatheree
Capogrosso Family Foundation
Michele Goodwin
Barry & Carole Hirsch
Hollywood Foreign Press Association
Kirk Hornbeck
Paula & Barry Litt
Alvin & Lisa Michaelson
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Rapkin Family Foundation
Shout! Factory
TM Financial Forensics
Union Bank